GWTW Forum

Kites! Kites! Kites! => Kite Building and Repair => Topic started by: sugarbaker on October 15, 2010, 04:30 PM



Title: AutoCAD for Mac
Post by: sugarbaker on October 15, 2010, 04:30 PM
notification was sent to me today that Autocad for Mac is now available for download.  Free if you're a student or teacher (Although, your saved projects will have a water stamp indicating that they come from an educational version of the software).

I installed a trial version and find that it is as capable as I remember from my experience with the windows model.  nice to have an industry standard CAD program for Mac. 

Don't know if anyone here cares, but I thought if there are any designers out there using Apple's OS, they might appreciate hearing the news.


Title: Re: AutoCAD for Mac
Post by: Will Sturdy on October 15, 2010, 04:56 PM
Sweet! Autocad is one of the things I really miss about switching to a mac. Sketchup just isn't the same.


Title: Re: AutoCAD for Mac
Post by: chilese on October 15, 2010, 04:58 PM
The only reason I have a PC is to run Auto-CAD.

Is Auto-CAD 3D in the package?

Of course, many of the local jobs I see want some version of Solid-Work now.

Oh the joy of different programs.


Title: Re: AutoCAD for Mac
Post by: sugarbaker on October 15, 2010, 05:04 PM
Autocad for Mac is 3D capable.


Title: Re: AutoCAD for Mac
Post by: grasshopper on October 15, 2010, 06:41 PM
Thanks for the information! I teach architectural drafting and basic AutoCAD at a technical college. This is good to know for students and other instructors who may have Mac's instead of PC's.

I wonder if Microstation is also available for Mac's. (I like AutoCAD soooooo much better, though!)

Linda


Title: Re: AutoCAD for Mac
Post by: Allen Carter on October 15, 2010, 10:05 PM
They're making an iPad App too. Pretty cool.


Title: Re: AutoCAD for Mac
Post by: inewham on October 16, 2010, 01:13 AM
Wow its finally arrived - they asked customers what they thought about a Mac version maybe 5 years ago. I'd given up on it ever arriving. Just need a Mac version of Revit now.

 8)