any downside to a B rev for a rookie?

(1/3) > >>

northwavesailor:
My wife has decided that she wants to give a Rev a try. We may have her take a lesson before we take the plunge and buy a one.

The question is this: Would a B series 1.5 be OK or would an EXP be easier for a complete novice? I know that the EXP RTF is the least expensive way to buy a new Rev but (I don't think we're alone here) the B1.5 and B1.5 Pro custom are just good looking kites compared to the EXP.

She says has to look at it in the air (or crashing to the ground!)and wants a 'pretty' kite.

We just don't want to overbuy if the B series is harder to get a total rookie started on a quad line than and EXP or SLE!

nckiter:
The B series 1.5 will be no harder to learn than the EXP, it may actually be a little easier. You will also have a kite that is more capable of your quad line skills as they develop. If the dollars are not a deciding issue, definitely go with the B.

SkyDancer:
Quote from: northwavesailor on October 14, 2013, 10:32 AM

She says has to look at it in the air (or crashing to the ground!)and wants a 'pretty' kite.

Pretty is important! If she doesn't like how the kite looks, she won't want to fly it as often. That's why when I bought my LW her first sport kite (a dual-line) as a birthday present, I picked out one with a sail in her favorite colors. She especially likes the way that kite's fabric glistens in the sun.

Quote from: northwavesailor on October 14, 2013, 10:32 AM

We just don't want to overbuy if the B series is harder to get a total rookie started on a quad line than and EXP or SLE!