straight or curved leading edge design
(1/4) > >>
kite_pilot:
hi guys,
just curious to know,some sport stunt kites have very straight leading edges and some have more curved leading edges!
whats the difference between the two r.e flight Characteristics please ?
which is the better shape r.e performance ?
its amazing how sport stunt kites fly when you think about it isnt it?
thanks
glen
tcope:
Over the years I've made the following observation on this. Disclaimer... I'm not an expert and I've never spoken to one about this (so I'm betting that smarter people know much more then I do, to the point it's probably obvious to most).

I feel that curved edges allow the kite to make smoother turns. Kites with straight edges seem to make more "stiff" turns. I always thing of it that the kite makes a turn just like it's leading edge. If it's curved then the turn is nice ans smooth. If it's straight then the kite turns and locks on when you stop turning. Such a kite would be good for precision flying such as a ladder move or square turns.
Hadge:
Can I recommend reading this

http://www.iannewham.com/kitedesign/design.html
cerfvoliste:
The "French Invasion" brought the straight leading edge to America with as much impact on Sport Kites as the "British Invasion" had on Rock and Roll. And in addition, with their use of tail weights and a high aspect ratio, pitch based tricks became popular and more accessible.
That may be an over simplification, and there is still a lot to be said for for the curved, low aspect ratio kites.
@

Remember, No Matter Where You Go, There  You Are.
Doug S: