GWTW Forum
April 23, 2019, 03:56 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: With regrets ... the Forum is closing permanently on JUNE 8th
 
   Home   Help Forum Info Login Register Chat  
member support is greatly appreciated
Our forum is made possible by the support of the members of our community.

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: VoIP  (Read 11507 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
cerfvoliste
Trade Count: (+6)
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 552


Location: Yreka CA

WWW
« on: August 02, 2014, 10:10 AM »

Does anyone have VoIP phone service? How do you like it? Does it work if the power goes out.
Thanks
@

Remember, No Matter Where You Go, There  You Are.
Logged

thief
Global Moderator
Trade Count: (+30)
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5525


Location: North Shore of Massa-WHO-setts

WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2014, 10:32 AM »

Unless you have alternate power to the modem/router set up it will not work....
Logged

Kites kayaks & corgis again!!!
Tmadz
Trade Count: (+4)
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 490

Location: Middle of an Illinois cornfield

« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2014, 11:18 AM »

I have it. Very reliable, but I have reliable buried power lines. The house is only 11 years old. Works as good as ma bell ever did.

We are mostly cell only, but because the kids aren't quite old enough yet we got magic jack and it works great. An IT friend of mine turned me onto it. Worth every very few pennies.
Logged
RobB
Trade Count: (+10)
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1667


Location: Long Island

WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2014, 01:06 PM »

I have it in my house, and install it on much larger scale for my customers. It works pretty well for the most part, but for power outages, you would need a battery backup (UPS) for your equipment. The larger the battery, the longer it will last without power. If you lose power for days at a time (like we do in the North East) it may not be for you.
Logged

KiteVoice
Trade Count: (+1)
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 125

Location: Northern Indiana

WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2014, 08:51 PM »

Unless you have alternate power to the modem/router set up it will not work....

Correct. But my service (Vonage) has automatic fallback to my cell if their servers can't see my adapter on the net.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2014, 08:09 AM by SkyDancer » Logged

Sport kite beginner (dual and quad), kite festival announcer, kite club webmaster, amateur videographer, ham radio operator, private pilot (PP-ASEL), ballroom dancer.
ko
Trade Count: (+9)
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1118

Location: hermosa beach CA

« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2014, 06:22 PM »

I have been using Ooma for over 5 yrs. When I got it you bought the equipment  and that was it I haven't paid a dime since I got it for185. If I remember correctly Anyway I am pretty sure you only pay local taxes that apply now .It works well  for me comes with equip. For 2 lines and you can add more hope this helps Andrew
Later kurt
Logged

have fun kurt
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.8 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC
SimplePortal 2.2.1 © 2008-2009
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!