The Beginning - AKA's BIG DILEMMA???

Pages: (1/12) > >>

asburyparkjohn:

Last night in AP I was flying a Transformer TL on 40' X 50# lines as the beach was semi-crowded but felt comfortable in my spot with this line length ... yep ... a mother and a 12 year old kid with a $45 stunt kite. Luckily or un-lucky my line snapped as the wind picked up to 8-10 mph as my only other set was 50' X 90#. So I had two choices ... get the other set and continue in the ZONE or help the kid ... its been a while since I launched a $45 SK with package wrapping line. I keep thinking no wonder this sport struggles ... there are no tools to QUICKLY get a pilot from that stage to a Prism-Quantum with 75' X 90# lines and with proper wrist straps (its all self-taught).
Told the Mom after around 2 dozen nose plants with the 45* degree central window exercises in just keeping the kite airborne about this information and she seemed commited as having flown single line kites as a child ... she had the spirit ... so to speak ... I know when I went from Prism to Custom and starting attending these AKA events the knowledge from experienced pilots was INCREDIBLE.
I think the AKA should make some arrangment with Prism to get Videos out there or just a CD with videos on getting kids with Hypo's and Quantums with 75" X 90# lines and straps just from the get-go.
As I flew this $45 kite I had trouble keeping it up in the corners ... really ... with 8-10 mph semi-choppy west winds.
I read some recent polls ... most AKA members fly SLK, then stunt and then quad.
This video should be clear - avoid $50 stunt kites NOT from Prism - go to the $100 level or DON"T BOTHER.
I know ... I am dreaming AKA ... I do like the entire beach all to myself ...  ::) ::) ::)
Its IN THE VERY BEGINNING were you LOSE all your young pilots. This kid had NO CHANCE to continue and what Mom is going to spend $150 on an uncertainty UNLESS properly instructed.
I know I will see Chester out soon with his new Quantum ...

APJ