UL for rookie

(1/4) > >>

TJC:
Hi everyone! I'm Tom and new to this forum.

I'm a rookie trying to self teach myself to fly stunt kites. I guess the same could be said for most on this forum when they were new. That said, I have an E2 and a Quantum. Both picked up years ago but not flown. For training purposes, beyond youtube I have both the the Prism and Dodd Gross videos. Both are great learning tools. And, using them i 've managed to get basic kite control down. That is, i can fly anywhere in the window, do squares, circles etc. I can land consistantly without too much drama.  So now it's on to tricks.

Problem is - to learn tricks takes a lot of practice and that takes learnable wind conditions. I've got the time, but the wind has been either a no show or a blow out. Since there is little for me to learn by flying in high winds I will pass on that but the low winds are just as frustrating. These kites are too heavy to fly in low wind. Or at least too heavy for me to fly in low wind.

What UL kites would you recco to a rookie? I need something trickable and not overly fragile.

Thx for reading - I'll try to keep future posts a bit shorter.

adx1592:
That's a tough one, honestly. I think a good bet for the money would be a Freestylist UL for Jon T and skyburner kites, or even a used BMK. Other kites are framed in 2pt rods which are more fragile but the freestylist is not, and all of kens kites usually have 3pt frames which are a bit less fragile. Another good idea would be the prism zephyr, although it isn't really a UL. Welcome to the forum!

mtk beach flyer:
Im in the same boat as you are.  I just got off the phone with john at sky burner.  After talking with him for close to 30 min I am going to be ordering my widow maker ul tonight.  I know anyone can tell you anything but after talking with him I believe if I was to have a problem with my kite he would back up his product.

trigger: